News Department

Congressmembers Gottheimer, Murphy, Correa, Schrier lead call for vote on NO BAN Act

With the Travel Ban Repealed, Democrats Call for Passage of Legislation to Help Halt Future Unjust Immigration Restrictions & Religious Discrimination

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Congressmembers Josh Gottheimer (NJ-05), Stephanie Murpy (FL-7), Lou Correa (CA-46), and Kim Schrier (WA-8) led a group of ten Members of Congress urging swift action to pass H.R.1333, the National Origin-Based Antidiscrimination for Nonimmigrants (NO BAN) Act to place limitations on the President’s authority to impose unjust temporary immigration restrictions and to prohibit religious discrimination in immigration-related decisions, following the previous Administration’s Travel Ban which primarily targeted Muslim-majority countries.

The current Administration reversed this harmful policy on President Biden’s first day in office.

“The United States has long stood as a beacon of hope to people of all backgrounds, especially persecuted religious minorities,” the Members wrote in a letter to Congressional leadership. “However, beginning in 2017 and through several iterations required to meet judicial scrutiny, individuals from countries with substantial Muslim populations were wrongfully targeted by a wide-ranging travel ban implemented to fulfill a campaign promise to bar Muslims from entering the United States.”

The letter continues, “We support proven efforts to counter the threat of terrorism, keep our country safe, and strengthen the vetting process for all pathways into the United States. However, a blanket ban on any group of people undermines our national character and makes us less safe by turning people around the world against us. The travel ban has also had a profound impact on many Muslim Americans, making it harder for them to reunite with family members and loved ones from targeted countries.”

The NO BAN Act, introduced by Congresswoman Judy Chu (CA-27), would prohibit religious discrimination in immigration decisions and help reclaim some of Congress’ authority over immigration. The legislation is supported by more than 150 members of Congress.

A bipartisan majority in the U.S. House of Representatives voted to pass the NO BAN Act last Congress.

Joining Gottheimer, Murphy, Correa and Schrier on the letter are U.S. Representatives Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. (GA-2), Haley M. Stevens (MI-11), Carolyn Bourdeaux (GA-07), Jared Golden (ME-02), Colin Allred (TX-32), and Charlie Crist (FL-13).

Jay Edwards

Born and raised in Northwest NJ, Jay has a degree in Communications and has had a life-long interest in local radio and various styles of music. Jay has held numerous jobs over the years such as stunt car driver, bartender, voice-over artist, traffic reporter (award winning), NY Yankee maintenance crewmember and peanut farm worker. His hobbies include mountain climbing, snowmobiling, cooking, performing stand-up comedy and he is an avid squirrel watcher. Jay has been a guest on America’s Morning Headquarters,program on The Weather Channel, and was interviewed by Sam Champion.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button