News Department

Morris County Commissioner Stephen Shaw elected Secretary of North Jersey Transportation Planning Authority

MORRIS COUNTY, NJ – Morris County Commissioner Stephen H. Shaw was elected Secretary of the North Jersey Transportation Planning Authority (NJTPA) Board of Trustees at the Jan. 8 meeting.

“I thank my fellow Board members for electing me and I look forward to serving on the Executive Committee,” Shaw said. “The NJTPA provides a vital regional perspective on transportation issues, whether supporting the key role that freight plays in our local economy or prioritizing funding for much-needed local safety improvements, like those the county is studying for East Main Street/Mendham Road in Mendham Borough and Mendham Township and South Morris Street in the Town of Dover.”

The NJTPA oversees regional transportation planning and annually authorizes more than $1 billion in federal surface transportation funding for 13 counties in northern and central New Jersey.

The Executive Committee provides guidance and leadership to the full Board on a wide range of planning, policy and administrative issues. It meets as needed to review financial, personnel and policy matters. Board membership is an uncompensated position.

Commissioner Shaw has been in office since 2019 and joined the NJTPA Board in 2023, following the retirement of Morris County Commissioner Kathryn DeFillippo, who had previously represented the county on the board. This is his first time serving on the Executive Committee. He has also served as a member of the Planning & Economic Development Committee.

At the meeting, the NJTPA Board also selected four other members of its Executive Committee. The elected members of the Executive Committee are Ocean County Commissioner John P. Kelly, chair; Middlesex County Commissioner Charles Kenny, first vice-chair; and Warren County Commissioner Jason Sarnoski, second vice-chair. In accordance with the bylaws, Chairman John W. Bartlett appointed Union County Commissioner Bette Jane Kowalski to the position of third vice-chair.

The NJTPA is the metropolitan planning organization (MPO) for 13 northern New Jersey counties. Under federal legislation, MPOs provide a forum where local officials, public transportation providers and state agency representatives can come together and cooperatively plan to meet the region’s current and future transportation needs. It establishes the region’s eligibility to receive federal tax dollars for transportation projects.

The NJTPA Board consists of one local elected official from each of the 13 counties in the region (Bergen, Essex, Hudson, Hunterdon, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Ocean, Passaic, Somerset, Sussex, Union and Warren), and the cities of Newark and Jersey City.

The Board also includes a Governor’s Representative, the Commissioner of the New Jersey Department of Transportation, the Executive Director of NJ TRANSIT, the Chairman of the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey, and a Citizen’s Representative appointed by the Governor.

Jay Edwards

Born and raised in Northwest NJ, Jay has a degree in Communications and has had a life-long interest in local radio and various styles of music. Jay has held numerous jobs over the years such as stunt car driver, bartender, voice-over artist, traffic reporter (award winning), NY Yankee maintenance crewmember and peanut farm worker. His hobbies include mountain climbing, snowmobiling, cooking, performing stand-up comedy and he is an avid squirrel watcher. Jay has been a guest on America’s Morning Headquarters,program on The Weather Channel, and was interviewed by Sam Champion.

Related Articles

Back to top button